New scholarships and 2023 recipients announced

The Fencible Foundation has increased its reach in 2023 with two further scholarships honouring the memory of respected Pakuranga United Rugby Club members.

The Mike Garner and Angus Barrett Memorial Scholarships will be added to the already established stable of scholarships awarded to local, promising athletes to support their tertiary endeavours.

While existing scholarships are open to young athletes partaking in any sport, the two new scholarships are specifically for rugby players, with the inaugural recipients announced in March 2023.

Riley Harrison and Moses Hafoka were presented the Mike Garner and Angus Barrett Memorial Scholarships respectively at the 2023 Pakuranga Premier jersey auction.

Fencible Foundation Chair Mike Anderson said Riley and Moses were fantastic young men and a great fit for the new scholarships.

“We want to award these scholarships to young players who are tenacious, honest and hardworking, both Riley and Moses certainly fit those criteria.

“Mike and Angus were long serving, and well-respected members of our local rugby community and we felt it was important to recognise that in a way that ensures their contribution continues to be remembered,” said Anderson.

Riley Harrison went to Howick College and is currently studying Sport and Recreation at AUT. He had a stand out year in 2022, winning the PURC Under 21 Cannons Player of the Year, the Barry Smith Trophy for most points kicked in the senior club and the Charles Piutau Trophy for Senior Player of the Year.

Moses Hafoka was co-captain of the Sacred Heart 1 st XV and Deputy Head Boy before graduating and starting a Bachelor of Engineering at the University of Auckland. He has donned the blue and white hoops at both Under 18 and Under 19 age grades.